Religious Intolerance in Pakistan

Religious intolerance in Pakistan is at its peak. The Shia genocide is no hidden story, not to forget the persecution and torturing of Ahmedis and Christians and their supporters. Minorities are living under the shadow of fear. The so called Mullahs declare anyone a “kafir” at their sweet will and there is no questioning about it.  This is a sad truth, no exaggeration. It is not just common people who are the affected ones. Famous people like Shahbaz Bhatti and Salman Taseer have been a victim of this intolerance. We as Pakistani and then as Muslims should discourage this heinous act of hatred. What this society needs is the virtue of tolerance and patience. Freedom of speech may be an over rated and far fetched idea in this time but if people only start accepting and respecting each other’s idea most of the problem could be solved. I read this random post at my Facebook and this shows the state of sectarian divide prevailing in Pakistan:

Once I saw a guy on a bridge about to jump. I said, “Don’t do it!”
He said, “Nobody loves me.”
I said, “God loves you. Do you believe in God?”
He said, “Yes.”
I said, “Are you a Muslim or a non-Muslim?”
He said, “A Muslim.”
I said, “Me, too! Shia or Sunni?”
He said, “Sunni.”
I said, “Me, too! What mazhab?”
He said, “Hanafi.”

I said, “Me, too! Deobandi or Barelvi?”
He said, “Barelvi.”
I said, “Me, too! Tanzeehi or Tafkeeri?”
He said, “Tanzeehi.”
I said, “Me, too! Tanzeehi Azmati or Tanzeehi Farhati?”
He said, “Tanzeehi Farhati.”
I said, “Kaafir” and I pushed him over.
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment